Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The rising stars of Welsh Pro Rugby will take centre stage in the Welsh capital as rugby supporters get a unique chance to watch six thrilling back to back Welsh 7s derbies on Saturday afternoon.

All four Welsh Pro Rugby teams, Cardiff Blues, Newport Gwent Dragons, Ospreys and Scarlets will be in action at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park as the Welsh leg of the Singha Premiership 7s contest kicks off at 3.15pm on Saturday 15th August.

The Welsh contest (Group A) will open the 2015 Premiership Rugby 7s Series now in its 5th year and which sees all 12 English Premiership clubs and the four Welsh Pro Rugby teams battle it out in an intense few weeks of testing 7s summer rugby.

A busy BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park will host with plenty of entertainment for all the family and plenty of fast, furious, running rugby to keep the crowds on the edge of their seats.

The Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series is the only competition this season where you will see the 12 English Premiership Rugby clubs taking on the four Welsh Regions.

Tickets for the Premiership Rugby 7s Series at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park remain on sale NOW priced at £10 for adults and £5 for Season Ticket holders and all under-16s. Call the Ticket Office on 02920 302030 or click on to buy online.

Singha Premiership 7s Series – Group A Fixtures

3.15pm – Cardiff Blues v Ospreys

3.40pm – Newport Gwent Dragons v Scarlets

4:10pm – Newport Gwent Dragons v Ospreys

4:35pm – Cardiff Blues v Scarlets

5:05pm – Ospreys v Scarlets

5:30pm – Cardiff Blues v Newport Gwent Dragons


Wales Sevens international Lewis Jones will lead Cardiff Blues in the highly successful 7s Series that has taken English and Welsh rugby by storm in recent years.

The Cardiff Blues will look to repeat the success of last season, when they won the Welsh leg, and book one of the two places up for grabs for finals day at Twickenham Stoop on Friday, August 28.

Scrum half Jones, who made his debut for Wales Sevens earlier this year in the World Series, leads a talented and exciting 12-man squad that features a number of players who played in the 7s Series last season.

Seb Davies, Ben Roach, Geraint Walsh, Ellis Wyn Benham and Owen Jenkins all return for more 7s action while Garyn Smith and Jarrod Evans are included after string summer campaign’s with Wales Under-20s.

A total of 10 players out of the 12-man squad are Academy members or graduates with youngsters like Mike Hale and Owen Land the latest young stars keen to impress in front of the BT Sport cameras.

1  Owen Jenkins 2  Harry Davies 3  Gavin Dacey 4  Seb Davies 5  Ben Roach 6  Garyn Smith 7  Elis Wyn Benham 8  Owen Lane

9  Lewis Jones – Captain 10  Jarrod Evans 11  Chris Knight 12  Mike Hale


Coached by Dai Flanagan and with their sights set firmly on Twickenham Stoop, Scarlets 7s have revealed their team to take on the other three regions at this year’s Welsh Regions’ leg of the Premiership Rugby 7s.

Llandovery speedsters Aaron Warren, Will Thomas and Lee Rees make the 12-man squad along with fellow Premiership side players Nathan Edwards and Richard Williams, both from Llanelli RFC. The Carmarthen Quins contribute three more to the squad with Chris Banfield, Iolo Evans and Ollie Hutchin also being selected. 7s specialists Luke Treharne and Jacob Unwin add their expertise and experience to the squad, both having represented Wales 7s. Also keep an eye out for Scarlets Academy winger Shaun Pearce, who will certainly inject some pace into the team. Captaining the squad at Cardiff will be none other than the Scarlets’ own scrum-half, Connor Lloyd.

Dai Flanagan, former fly-half and now Head Coach at Llanelli RFC, will be coaching the Sevens through their campaign. The young coach’s ambition is to see his side perform to the best of their abilities with qualification to the next round at the Twickenham Stoop an additional bonus.

“We’ll look to qualify for the next round. To go to the Stoop and play in the final of the whole series would be a good achievement for the group.

“It was disappointing not to break through to the final stages last year. Our biggest aim is to be competitive on the day, if we get through that’s a bonus. We want to challenge these kids on a level they’re not used to.”

  1. Aaron Warren
  2. Shaun Pearce
  3. Will Thomas
  4. Chris Banfield
  5. Luke Treharne
  6. Lee Rees
  7. Connor Lloyd – Captain
  8. Iolo Evans
  9. Ollie Hutchin
  10. Jacob Unwin
  11. Nathan Edwards
  12. Richard Williams


Dragons Director of Rugby, Lyn Jones has put his faith in experienced sevens coach Nick Wakley for the second year running, after Wakley took the squad last year to the final; loosing out to Gloucester Rugby in the final clash of the evening.

The Dragons squad is a fantastic mixture of youth and experience with talented International sevens player Geraint Rhys Jones taking the role of Captain this year. The skilled sevens kicker is joined in the squad by fellow Dragons players Matthew Pewtner, Dorian Jones, Harri Keddie and Ollie Griffiths. Three players from the Dragons Academy have also made the 12-man squad as speedsters Lloyd Lewis, Arwel Robson and Owen Davies are given the nod.   Premiership players Luke Crocker and Owen Williams are in from Ebbw Vale RFC as well as Newport RFC contributing Elliot Frewen and Jonny Lewis.

Nick Wakley commented: “We’ve got a similar sort of side to last year and Lyn and Kingsley have been great in releasing Dorian, (Jones) Rhys (Jones) and ‘Pewts’.

“I couldn’t have asked for a better set-up and they have been very forthcoming with players. Lyn has got a winning mentality and doesn’t want to go there to make up the numbers.”

Wakley continued: “Lyn has backed us with the pros and we’ve got some cracking players with the likes of Luke Crocker, Lloyd Lewis and Jonny Lewis, who has been on the sevens circuit for some time.

“There will be loads of leaders out there and we are looking pretty strong.”

  1. Matthew Pewtner
  2. Dorian Jones
  3. Harri Keddie
  4. Ollie Griffiths
  5. Luke Crocker
  6. Owen Williams
  7. Geriant Rhys Jones ©
  8. Elliot Frewen
  9. Owen Davies
  10. Arwel Robson
  11. Lloyd Lewis
  12. Jonny Lewis


Wales 7s international, Aled Jenkins, will captain the Ospreys squad. The squad for the opening round of this year’s competition was confirmed today with fellow Wales 7s cap Ross Jones, Joe Gage, Joel Matavesi, Jordan Collier and Morgan Williams all returning after playing in last year’s event. The team is being led by Dan Griffiths as Head Coach, assisted by Mike Hook.

Speaking ahead of the day’s action Griffiths said that it was important that the region made an impression at the event.

“We’ll be treating this exactly the same way as we’d approach any fixture, and we will be looking to perform to the very best of our ability. Any team that pulls on an Osprey shirt and wears the badge knows that they will be judged to the very highest of standards, so it’s important this group are professional in everything they do, on and off the field.

“It’s a young team but there is some sevens experience in there, with a few of the boys who want to make a positive impression after the disappointment they felt last year.

“It’s an exciting concept. There’s no hiding place in sevens, it’s fast and it’s furious, and it’ll give some of these players a chance to taste what representing the Ospreys is all about. ”

Ospreys Sevens Squad

  1.  Alex Humphries
  2.  Joe Gage
  3.  Reuben Williams
  4.  Lloyd Williams
  5.  Ross Jones
  6.  Aled Jenkins (Capt)
  7.  Keelan Giles
  8.  Morgan Williams
  9.  Phil Jones
  10.  Joel Matavesi
  11.  Jon Fox
  12.  Jordan Collier