Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Newport Gwent Dragons meet Gloucester Rugby in the European Rugby Challenge Cup quarter-finals at Kingsholm this Saturday KO 12.45pm with the Welsh team looking to take on last season’s Champions to claim a semi-final spot for the second successive season.

Newport Gwent Dragons have won their two quarter-finals to date with both matches on home soil at Rodney Parade and know they have to be at their best to get a win away from home in the fortress of Kingsholm. Following last season’s unbeaten success, and a further six victories in this season’s pool stage, Gloucester have a set a new tournament record of 15 consecutive wins.

Dragons Assistant Coach Kingsley Jones, who helped to coach the Sale Sharks to their second title in 2005, will take his Dragons side back to one of his other former clubs, Gloucester at a quarter-final which is sure to have a great atmosphere with crowds of Welsh supporters making the trip up the M5.

Fullback Carl Meyer gets the nod alongside wings Adam Hughes and Hallam Amos in the back three. The centre partnership remains unchanged from last weekend as Tyler Morgan and Adam Warren are named. Fly-half Dorian Jones remains in the team alongside South African scrum-half Sarel Pretorius.

The front row sees hooker Elliot Dee join props Phil Price and Brok Harris. There is one change in the second row as Nick Crosswell joins lock Rynard Landman. The back row sees flanker Lewis Evans take on the role of captain and he joins Nic Cudd and number 8 Taulupe Faletau.

The replacements bench sees the return of Angus O’Brien from injury and Matthew Screech also moves to the bench. They join Rhys Buckley, Boris Stankovich, Shaun Knight, Ed Jackson, Charlie Davies and Geraint Rhys Jones.

Newport Gwent Dragons team to face Gloucester Rugby: Carl Meyer, Adam Hughes, Tyler Morgan, Adam Warren, Hallam Amos, Dorian Jones, Sarel Pretorius; Phil Price, Elliot Dee, Brok Harris, Rynard Landman, Nick Crosswell, Lewis Evans ©, Nic Cudd, Taulupe Faletau.

Replacements: Rhys Buckley, Boris Stankovich, Shaun Knight, Matthew Screech, Ed Jackson, Charlie Davies, Angus O’Brien, Geraint Rhys Jones.