Print Friendly, PDF & Email

All 12 Principality Premiership clubs competing in the 2015/16 season have maintained their Premiership A Licence status which means they are eligible to compete in the 2016/17 competition.

In addition, SSE SWALEC Championship clubs Bargoed, Merthyr, Pontypool, RGC 1404 and Swansea have achieved the Premiership A Licence which means that the four top SSE SWALEC Championship clubs with A Licences at the end of the season will be promoted into the Principality Premiership. The Premiership will then be ring-fenced until the end of the 2018/19 season.

WRU Group Chief Executive Martyn Phillips said, “The Principality Premiership is a vital part of the player pathway where almost all of our international players cut their teeth in senior rugby.

“Throughout the A Licence process, clubs have shown a real sense of ambition and determination to improve themselves both on and off the field and now the race is on to clinch the four available spots for the next three seasons of Principality Premiership rugby.

“The fact that there will be no relegation in the division for the next three seasons will hopefully help the coaches and players to concentrate on development and on producing an entertaining brand of rugby which will help produce Welsh professional players of the future.

“Following initial meetings, we plan to work closely with the Principality Premiership clubs to build a vision and strategy for the future of the division and will continue to help drive standards on and off the field in terms of medical, analysis, strength and conditioning, coaching and providing commercial support.”

Clubs awarded A Licence status:






Carmarthen Quins

Cross Keys

Ebbw Vale








RGC 1404